Appzoo lab is born !

This is my first blog in my new space. Welcome to my lab. I started tinkering my old hardware. I plan to accomplish few things in the cloud space.

I needed hardware to do stuff, since my desktop, laptop were pretty old. I managed to dust my old server  shown in the picture below and keep it running.

My requirement were 2 systems, one can be old, the other should be new with VT (hardware virtualization) enabled,  supported by the processor/motherboard.

My  very old hardware which  runs PII Xeon 450Mhz, with atleast 3 fans..noisy suited the first system.

I started looking at ordering hardware to build a new system. I narrowed down to the X58 series motherboards from ASUS guys, and intel core i7 – 950 series (not the xtreme one). The extreme series is pretty expensive.

I bought it online from a vendor called http://www.lynx-india.com. This vendor is pretty good and offered at cheaper prices than chennai’s ritchie.  I recommend this vendor. I bought the following

Intel Core i7 950 Processor 1
Corsair DDR-III Memory 4GB – Model CMX4GX3M1A1333C9 3
Asus X58 Chipset Intel Motherboard X58 Sabertooth 1
Asus GF8400GS 512MB DDR2 Graphic Card 1
Coolermaster Gladiator 600 Cabinet Model – RC-600-KKN1-GP 1
Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 600W 1

The ‘slide show’ shows the  fit out of the first computer with a 12GB, intel core i7 950, cooler master case, ASUS Sabertooth X58 Mobo.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The final one shows the two computers… Adios for now.

Leave a Reply

